Maharashtra’s 2 Shiv Senas get new names, Uddhav’s party symbol is flaming torch | Latest News India

NEW DELHI: Uddhav Thackeray‘s Shiv Sena will be the . are called ‘Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray)‘ and the rival faction led by the Prime Minister Eknath Shinde will be ‘Balasahebanchi Shivsena’ for the upcoming midterm elections, the election commission said in separate orders on Monday about the provisional names of the two parties.

The committee last week froze the name and symbol of the Shiv Sena and told the two factions led by Uddhav Thackeray and Eknath Shinde to express their preference for new names and symbols as an interim measure.

In their requests, both factions asked EC to let them call their party, Shiv Sena (Balasaheb Thackeray). The committee, made up of Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey, rejected the request, pointing out that this was the first preference of both factions.

The two factions were allowed to use the names they presented as their second option: Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) for the Uddhav Thackeray-led faction and ‘Balasahebanchi Shivsena for the Eknath Shinde faction.

The two factions also gave the same symbols, Trishul (Trident) and Rising Sun, as their first two party symbol preferences.

The EC stressed that the Trishul and the Rising Sun, apart from being claimed by both factions, could not be assigned because the Trishul was a religious symbol and the Rising Sun had already been assigned to the ruling Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) of Tamil Nadu .

The Uddhav faction’s third option, a flaming torch, was not on the EC free symbols list. The EC injunction noted that the flames had once been attributed to the Samata party, which ceased to be recognized in 2004.

The Shinde faction’s third choice for an election symbol was a Gadha (club). It was also rejected because it was a religious symbol. Maharashtra’s prime minister has been told to come back at 10 a.m. Tuesday with a new list of party symbol preferences.

To be sure, the interim name and party symbols of the two Sena factions are essentially intended for interim use for the upcoming Andheri East bypoll, until the Commission makes a final decision on the name Shiv Sena and its associated party symbol.

The commission said the preliminary injunction was necessary to address the legal spaces generated by the midterm election schedule announced on Oct. 3.

“In order to place both rival groups on an equal footing and to protect their rights and interests and building on the past, the Commission hereby issues the following interim order to cover the purpose of the current by-elections and to proceed until the final determination of the dispute,” according to the EC’s 12-page interim order.

EC added that the interim measure will continue “until the final settlement of the dispute”. The last date to submit nominations for the November 3 poll is October 14. Andheri East constituency remained vacant following the death of Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke in May.

“The Commission is under an obligation to ensure that all electoral steps of the by-election are free of any confusion and contradiction and that its next step is thus necessarily indifferent to the possibility of any of the factions taking part in the poll,” the interim statement said. command. .

The committee previously asked the rival groups to submit evidence of legislative and organizational support by Aug. 8 to support claims that they would inherit the Sena’s original name and symbol. The deadline was extended to October 7 at the request of the Thackeray faction. On October 4, the Shinde faction relocated the Election Commission, seeking the assignment of the bow and arrow symbol in view of the Andheri East Assembly by-election.

The Uddhav Thackeray faction filed its response to the claim on Saturday, asking for another four weeks to carefully examine the documentation submitted by the rival faction.

The documents filed include affidavits from party officials, details of primary membership, pledges of loyalty by 250,000 officials, a resolution of the national party leadership on Jan. 23, 2018, appointing Thackeray as the national president until 2023, and the party’s written constitution. that gives the party chairman absolute power.

The Shiv Sena was registered as a political party in 1968, two years after its inception. It has contested elections in the past on various symbols such as the train engine, palm trees and a sword and shield. In 1989, four Shiv Sena candidates were elected to the Lok Sabha and that year it was given the bow and arrow symbol. The 1990 Maharashtra Assembly polls were the first to be contested by the party using the bow and arrow symbol. The Shiv Sena provided an important political opening in these elections; the number increased from one MLA in 1985 to 52 in 1990.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *